



GOVERNMENT OF KERALA Finance (Inspection Wing - Technical) Department

No: 64/2021/Fin

Dated, Thiruvananthapuram 05/08/2021

CIRCULAR

- Sub: Construction of Retaining walls with Dry Rubble Masonry -Clarification regarding typical design issued - Reg.
- Ref: 1. Government Circular No.87/2016 dated 18/11/2016. 2. Letter No.E1/1/2019/PMULSGD dated 03/03/2021.

As per 1^st reference cited, a typical design drawing was issued for construction of retaining wall using dry rubble masonry pertaining to the public works in the State, up to a height of 5m.

During interactions with various Engineering departments, it was reported that there exists practical difficulties in adopting certain provisions in the circular and requested to modify the same. The Project Director, Rebuild Kerala Initiative, LSGD, Thiruvananthapuram vide 2nd reference has reported similar issues and requested to modify the circular.

The Government after having examined the issue in detail, is pleased to issue the following modifications to the Circular cited above:-

- 1. Para 3:- PCC 1:3:6 grade mix proposed for the intermediate and top belts shall be substituted with RCC M20 grade. However, no changes are proposed in the size of DRM, RCC belts and nominal steel reinforcement.
- 2. Technical Sanction authority is permitted to waive the provision for providing slope for Base of retaining walls with DRM for protecting the earth embankments in plain and water logged areas based on site conditions.(slope provided in the typical drawing in the circular)

3. Technical Sanction authority , in exceptional circumstances, is authorized to approve changes in dimensions of typical designs in the above circular as per site specific conditions which shall be based on Geo-technical parameters and stability calculations. TS authority is responsible to ensure that the approved drawings are structurally stable and also economical.

All HoDs shall communicate the above modifications up to Section office level for compliance, early.

HARIKUMAR S Chief Technical Examiner & Ex-Officio Secretary (Inspection Technical Finance).

To:

The Additional Chief Secretary, Finance Department.

The Accountant General (A & E/Audit), Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram

The Principal Secretary, Public Works Department.

The Secretary, Water Resources Department.

The Secretary, Fisheries Department.

The Principal Secretary, Ports Department.

The Principal Secretary, Public Works Department.

The Principal Secretary, Local Self Government Department.

The Principal Secretary, Forest & Wild Life Department.

The Principal Secretary, Industries Department.

The Principal Secretary, Science and Technology Department.

The Secretary, Agriculture Department.

The Chief Engineer, PWD (Roads), Thiruvananthapuram.

File No.InspTech-2/125/2021-FIN

The Chief Engineer, PWD (Bridges), Thiruvananthapuram.

The Chief Engineer, National Highways & Admn., Tvpm.

The Chief Engineer, Harbour Eng. Department, Tvpm.

The Chief Engineer, Local Self Government Dept. / KSRRDA, Tvpm.

The Chief Conservator of Forest (Admn), Thiruvananthapuram.

The Chief Engineer (I & A), Thiruvananthapuram.

The Chief Engineer, Irrigation Projects I / II, Calicut / Thiruvananthapuram.

The Chief Executive Officer, RBDC / KRFB.

The Chief Engineer, KSTP, Thiruvananthapuram.

The Chief Engineer, PWD Buildings Thiruvananthapuram.

The CMD, KSEBL, Thiruvananthapuram.

The Managing Director, Kerala Water Authority.

The Managing Director, KITCO, Ernakulam.

The Chairman, GCDA, Ernakulam.

The Managing Director, KSRTC, Thiruvananthapuram.

The Managing Director, KTDC, Thiruvananthapuram.

The Managing Director, KLDC, Thrissur.

The Managing Director, KSCC, Thiruvananthapuram

The Managing Director, KPHCC, Thiruvananthapuram.

The Managing Director, KINFRA, Thiruvananthapuram.

The Managing Director, Kerala Electricals Ltd, Ernakulam.

The Registrar, Kerala / Kottayam / CUSAT / Calicut / Kannur Universities

File No.InspTech-2/125/2021-FIN

The Registrar, Sanskrit University, Kalady.

The Registrar, Kerala Agricultural University, Thrissur.

The Registrar, Kerala University of Health Sciences, Thrissur.

The Registrar, Kerala Technological University, Tvpm.

The Registrar, Kerala University of Vetenary Sciences, Wyanad.

The Registrar, Kerala Fisheries University, Ernakulam.

The Registrar, Kerala University of Legal Studies, Ernakulam.

The Commissioner, Devaswom Board, Travancore / Kochi / Malabar.

All Accredited agencies of Finance Department.

The Nodal Officer, www.finance.kerala.gov.in for wide publicity.

Forwarded / By order,

Section Officer.